Header_Services.jpg

Early Development Phases of Phase I and Ib

Phase I of clinical research is currently undergoing changes. In addition to healthy study subjects, patients are integrated in the early development phases of drugs more frequently. This correlation is defined as “adaptive designs“. The underlying reason is to potentially decrease the timeframe between the initial administration to humans (first time in human) and the proof of concept. This is where emovis becomes active. As a study site with such a valuable combination of 1. competence and "Dedication" as well as 2. the ability to recruit a high number of patients in a high-quality, diligent and fast manner.  

Phase I – Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamics

"What does the body do with the substance?" and "what does the substance do to the body”; that and the tolerability are questions assessed by the clinical drug inspection in Phase I. The professional sector refers to the first case as "Pharmacokinetic" and in the second case as "Pharmacodynamics". Generally 80 to 100 healthy patients are enough to answer these questions; however, individual patients with relevant indications are included more frequently as well.

Ward "Sleep laboratory" – Located in a Comfortable Atmosphere

In all honesty, it can be said that the sleep disorder laboratory has been furnished without consideration of the Phases I und Ib. Sleep disorder trial, such as insomnia, restless leg syndrome, migraine and depression are, and have been the common business practice on the 4th floor at emovis. However, these projects can be put on hold to accommodate the implementation of an interesting Phase Ib study, because the emovis sleep disorder laboratory is transformed into a “ward” for these projects. Up to three study subjects are admitted and quartered on an inpatient basis. In comfortable surroundings, the study subjects reside there for the duration of the trial and may only move under supervision for walks around the district surrounding the study site.

Header_Services.jpg

Frühe Phasen der Entwicklung – Phase I und Ib

Die Phase I der klinischen Forschung verändert sich derzeit. Immer häufiger werden schon in frühen Phasen der Medikamenten-Entwicklung neben gesunden Probanden auch Patienten eingebunden. Man spricht in diesem Zusammenhang von "adaptiven Designs". Hintergrund ist, den Weg von der Erstanwendung am Menschen (first time in human) zum "proof of concept" möglichst zu verkürzen. – Und hier kommt emovis ins Spiel. Als Studienzentrum mit der wertvollen Kombination aus 1. Kompetenz und "dedication" sowie 2. der Fähigkeit, qualitätvoll, sorgfältig und schnell viele Patienten zu rekrutieren.

Phase I – Pharmakokinetik und Pharmakodynamik

"Was macht der Körper mit der Substanz?" und "Was macht die Substanz mit dem Körper" – das, und die Verträglichkeit, sind die Fragen, die in der klinischen Arzneimittelprüfung in Phase I geprüft werden. Die Fachwelt spricht im ersten Fall von "Pharmakokinetik" und im zweiten von "Pharmakodynamik". Zur Überprüfung dieser Fragen reichen in der Regel 80 bis 100 gesunde Probanden, allerdings werden zunehmend auch einzelne Patienten der relevanten Indikation mit einbezogen.

Station "Schlaflabor" – Kasernierung mit Wohlfühlatmosphäre

Ehrlicherweise sei gesagt, dass die Einrichtung des Schlaflabors ohne Blick auf Studien der Phasen I und Ib erfolgt ist. Schlafstudien zu Insomnie, Restless Legs, Migräne und Depression sind und waren das übliche Geschäft im 4. OG von emovis. Allerdings können diese Projekte auch einmal pausieren, wenn eine spannende Phase-Ib-Studie umgesetzt werden soll. Denn in diesen Projekten wird das Schlaflabor von emovis zur "Station". Bis zu drei Probanden werden stationär aufgenommen und kaserniert. In angenehmer Wohlfühlatmospäre verbringen die Probanden den Studienzeitraum und  dürfen sich natürlich nur unter Aufsicht bei Spaziergängen im Kiez rund um das Studienzentrum bewegen.