Header_Services.jpg

Research on Patients – Clinical Trials, Phases II-IV

Clinical trials conducted by emovis are usually conducted in Phases II-IV. What does emovis appreciate in the respective phases? And how does emovis address the question of mono- or multi-center implementation of clinical trials? About the core business.

Randomized, Double-Blind, Multi-Centric

The clinical trials conducted by emovis in its study site and in the sleep laboratory are primarily in Phases II-IV. Particularly for Phase III the following applies to most projects: randomized, double-blind, multi-center.

The question "mono- versus multi-center" however, has been recently discussed more frequently. emovis is open to both solutions, whereby, especially in large clinical trials (more than 200 participants), the “multi-center" approach is also a quality characteristic in emovis’ opinion.

What emovis Appreciates in the Individual Phases

Phase II – Determining the Dose-Corresponding Effect

The effect of an active ingredient is tested on several hundred patients in the defined indication segment in Phase II. The most exciting aspect for the emovis team in Phase II is typically the insight in the first application on patients. Patients that have completed a therapy segment are especially motivated for trial II. In part, they hope to participate in a later phase again.

Phase III – Better Than Placebo or Standard Therapy?

In Phase III the strict effect verification compared to placebo or a standard therapy is implemented. Clinical trials in this phase are usually randomized and if possible, double-blind.  These clinical trials include up to several thousand patients.  The especially exciting aspect for emovis in Phase III clinical trials is in part, to participate in an (often) worldwide implemented project and to contribute to the success with all of its commitment and expertise.

If it is a blinded trial, emovis is of course more than adequately equipped to break the code if necessary in the event of a AEs or SAEs.  The "medical emergency telephone” is available for cases like this. More specifically: a clinical investigator is on duty and is able to break the code according to the applicable SOP.

Phase IV – Are There Still Unknown Side Effects?

Phase IV accommodates the exam, reliability and effect. Drugs that have already been approved are undergoing additional assessments and the determination of potential rare side effects is an important goal. The interesting aspect for emovis in conducting a Phase IV trial is primarily the recruiting process. The willingness of patients to participate in a trial for an approved drug is especially great.

Header_Services.jpg

Forschung am Patienten – Klinische Studien der Phasen II-IV

Klinische Studien, die emovis durchführt, fallen in aller Regel in die Phasen II-IV. Was aber ist es, was emovis an den jeweiligen Phasen schätzt? Und wie steht emovis zu der Frage der mono- oder multizentrischen Durchführung von Studien? Über das Kerngeschäft.

Randomisiert, doppelblind, multizentrisch

Die Studien, die emovis bei sich im Studienzentrum und im Schlaflabor durchführt, befinden sich meist in der Phase II-IV. Insbesondere in Phase III gilt für die meisten Projekte: randomisiert, doppelblind, multizentrisch. "Randomisiert" und "doppelblind" gehören dabei zum Standard der Guten Klinischen Praxis (GCP).

Die Frage "mono- versus multizentrisch" wird hingegen öfter diskutiert in der letzten Zeit. emovis ist für beide Lösungen offen, wobei gerade bei großen Studien (über 200 Teilnehmer), der Ansatz "multizentrisch" – aus Sicht von emovis – auch ein Qualitätsmerkmal ist. 

Was emovis an den einzelnen Phasen schätzt

Phase II – Ermittlung der Dosis-Wirkungs-Beziehung

In Phase II wird die Wirksamkeit eines Wirkstoffs an wenigen hundert Patienten des vorgesehenen Indikationsgebiets erprobt. Besonders spannend an der Phase II ist für das emovis-Team, der Einblick in die – im Regelfall – erstmaligen Anwendung an Patienten. Gerade Patienten, die austherapiert sind, stehen der Studie II besonders motiviert gegenber. Teilweise haben sie auch die Hoffnung, in einer späteren Phase wieder teilnehmen zu können.

Phase III – Besser als Placebo oder Standardtherapie?

In Phase III findet der strenge Wirksamkeitsnachweis im Vergleich zu Placebo oder einer Standardtherapie statt. Studien dieser Phase sind meist randomisiert und nach Möglichkeit doppelblind. Sie umfassen bis zu mehrere tausend Patienten. Das besonders spannende an Studien der Phase III ist für emovis Teil eines (oft) weltweit laufenden Projekts zu sein und mit allem Engagement und aller Expertise zum Gelingen des Projekts beizutragen. 

Ist die Studie verblindet, ist emovis natürlich bestens aufgestellt, um im Fall eines AEs oder SAEs die notwendigen Entblindung durchführen zu können. Hierfür gibt es das "Ärztliche Notfalltelefon", das an 365 Tagen im Jahr 24 Stunden erreichbar ist. Das bedeutet: ein Prüfarzt hat jeweils Dienst und ist jederzeit in der Lage nach festgelegten SOPs die Entblindung vorzunehmen. 

 

Phase IV – Gibt es noch unbekannte Nebenwirkungen?

Phase IV dient der Untersuchung der Zuverlässigkeit der Wirksamkeit. Hier werden bereits zugelassene Medikamente weiter untersucht, und ein wichtiges Ziel dabei ist die Ermittlung seltener Nebenwirkungen. Spannend an der Durchführung von Studien der Phase IV ist für emovis vor allem die Rekrutierung. Die Bereitschaft von Patienten, an einer Studie mit einem zugelassenen Medikament teilzunehmen, ist besonders hoch.